Skilled Work Regional Visa

Home > Skilled Work Regional Visa

Subclass 491

Skilled Work Regional Visa

The new 491 visas, Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) subclass 491 visa will enable eligible skilled workers and their families to live, work and study in designated regional areas of Australia for 5 years. Visa holders will be eligible to apply for a Permanent Residence visa after three years. 

Applicants for this visa must be nominated by:

  •  an Australian state or territory government agency or
  • sponsored by an eligible family member residing in a designated regional area and be invited to apply for the visa, following submission of an Expression of Interest (EOI) in SkillSelect.
  • subclass 491 Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) visa has replaced the current 489 visas and has commenced on November 16, 2019. The 491 visa is a skilled and points tested visa. It has a 45 year age limit and requires a positive skills assessment.
If you require assistance with your visa application, please book your initial consultation with us.